Fact Checked

What are the Different LSAT® Sections?

Jami Yontz
Jami Yontz

The Law School Admission Test (LSAT®) is a standardized test that people take as an admission requirement to most law schools in the United States, Canada, and Australia. There are six LSAT® sections, and five sections are multiple-choice questions. On the exam, there are sections on reading comprehension, logical reasoning, analytical reasoning, an experimental section made up of either analytic reasoning, logical reasoning, or reading comprehension questions, and an essay. The LSAT® is administered four times a year, and test scores range from 120 to 180. A person can take the test multiple times, but all of the applicant’s previous scores will be sent to the school of the person’s choice.

Four text selections 400 to 800 words in length make up the reading comprehension portion of the LSAT®. Multiple-choice questions follow the text and will ask questions about specific facts in the text, the author’s viewpoint, the overall idea of the passage, and other questions that can be inferred from the text. While many test-takers believe this will be the easiest of the LSAT® sections, it can be difficult depending on the subject matter of the passage and the test-taker’s ability to read quickly and actively.

Five sections of the LSAT are multiple-choice questions.
Five sections of the LSAT are multiple-choice questions.

The logical reasoning section presents an argument in a few sentences. There are 25 multiple-choice questions asked in the logical reasoning portion of the LSAT® sections and there are two of these sections on the test. Most of the questions ask the tester to find the assumption or weaknesses of the argument that is being made.

Four logic games with five to eight accompanying questions make up the analytical reasoning section of the exam. These games attempt to determine the tester’s ability to find relationships, create sequential events, and understand complex puzzles. The game presents a list of characters or objects and then lists a set of restrictions that the tester must consider when answering the questions.

The essay portion is the only one of the LSAT® sections that is not scored, but the written exam is sent with the LSAT® score to the applicant's school of choice. It presents facts and circumstances and then asks that the person argue one of two points. There is no right or wrong answer, but many law schools want to see the person’s ability to form an argument and transfer these thoughts into a well-written and persuasive essay. The person is given 30 minutes to complete the writing portion of the exam.

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Forgot password?
    • Five sections of the LSAT are multiple-choice questions.
      By: uwimages
      Five sections of the LSAT are multiple-choice questions.