The key to successfully making gluten-free dough is to imitate the properties of wheat dough, including stickiness and the capacity to rise when baking. Using wheat-free flour as well as other ingredients that are specifically designed to replace traditional gluten products is important. One could also purchase gluten-free preprepared dough. Those with celiac disease or other forms of gluten intolerance need gluten-free dough.
Gluten is most commonly found in wheat and other grains, including oats, barley, and rye. Manufacturers include it in a variety of foods to produce a thick or chewy consistency. Dough, imitation meat, and pastries are among the products that often include gluten for this reason. Even foods which wouldn't seem to seem to require it, such as teriyaki sauce, beer, and ice cream may contain a gluten additive.
Digestive pain and other problems can be caused by a gluten allergy, which can develop at any time during a person's life. The cause of the sensitivity is unknown, though it may be related to overconsumption of gluten or other chemicals that are often added to gluten-containing products. Celiac disease is a genetic disorder that results in gluten intolerance.
Gluten-free dough can best be made by using products that are designed for those who cannot tolerate gluten ingestion. Gluten-free flour and eggs are good ingredients for making gluten-free dough that mimics regular dough. Rice flour or flour made from chickpeas are common gluten-free products used in baking. Regular yeast can be used in gluten-free dough as it does not contain gluten and will allow the dough to rise.
Adding a product that gives dough its traditional stickiness is helpful. This can be achieved by the addition of a gum, such as xanthan gum. Many gluten-free flours already contain a gum, so check the ingredients of the flour before adding more. The egg replacement product can also help give gluten-free dough a rich, chewy quality. For the easiest preparation, pre-made, frozen gluten-free dough is available at some food retailers and also online.
Those with extreme gluten allergies should take care to avoid accidental ingestion of gluten when making gluten-free bread. Products that are specified as gluten-free are best, as some companies may inadvertently mix traces of wheat foods with foods that do not contain gluten. One should also carefully read the labels of all ingredients on gluten-free dough before preparation to ensure that no gluten has been used.