We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What is Gluten-Free Alcohol?

By Lauren B. Parks
Updated May 17, 2024
Our promise to you
WiseGEEK is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At WiseGEEK, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Gluten-free alcohol does not contain the protein, gluten. This protein can be found in cereal grains including all forms of wheat, barley, and rye. Oats, while not containing gluten themselves, have been cited as agitators of a gluten allergy.

For the healthy digestive system, the presence of gluten is not a problem. However, some suffer from Celiac Disease (also known as Coeliac Disease). Celiac disease, while often referred to as a gluten allergy, is actually an auto-immune disorder. That means, that when a person with Celiac disease eats gluten, their intestines react as if the gluten were attacking the body. This inflames the intestines making the body unable to absorb the nutrients in the food. Not only does this reaction cause discomfort, it can be very dangerous, and can cause anemia, chronic tiredness, diarrhea, irritable bowels, migraines, and severe weight loss.

For this reason, it is important for gluten-intolerant people to remain vigilant when eating and drinking, especially at restaurants and bars. Typically, restaurants will gladly ask the chef if a dish contains gluten. However, where drinking is concerned, Celiacs should be aware of what is gluten-free and what is gluten-full.

Alcoholic beverages are commonly made of grain, and thus, Celiacs should always carefully examine the contents before consumption. Generally, wines of all varieties (white, red, rose, and sparkling) are a safe, gluten-free alcoholic choice. Wine coolers, on the other hand, are not safe for the Celiac, as the barley-malt in them contains gluten.

Distilled liquors are generally gluten-free as well. For example, rum, brandy, vodka, grappa, cider, champagne, tequila, sake, and scotch whiskey, are all usually safe for consumption. The distillation process typically removes the gluten.

Beer is the most problematic beverage when looking for gluten-free alcohol options. More often than not, beers are made of barely malts, and are therefore very agitating. However, there are companies dedicated to brewing gluten-free beer substitutes. Bard’s Tale Beer™ produced in the United States, and Green’s in the United Kingdom, sell such products.

Though liquors can be named gluten-free, it is possible for the contents to change. For that reason, when looking for gluten-free alcohol, it is important to always check the ingredients before drinking. It is better to prevent than to wind up in pain.

WiseGEEK is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

By anon27589 — On Mar 02, 2009

Anheuser-busch now sells a gluten free beer made from sorghum. It is called Red Bridge. It tastes like any real beer.

WiseGEEK, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

WiseGEEK, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.