We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What are the Earth's Chakras?

By Bethney Foster
Updated May 17, 2024
Our promise to you
WiseGEEK is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At WiseGEEK, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The Earth’s chakras are seven locations that are believed to be places of energy, similar to the chakras of the human body that are described in Hindu belief. Each of the Earth’s chakras contains a site that is considered to be sacred to one or more religions and to many New Age practitioners. Hindu teachings suggest that the chakras of the human body allow energy to travel from one part of the body to other parts and that healing takes place when the chakras align and are in balance. The Earth's chakras are seen as functioning in the same way for the planet.

Mount Shasta in the U.S. state of California is often listed as the first of the Earth’s chakras, also known as the root chakra or the Muladhara. This corresponds to the chakra of the hips, legs, and lower back of the human body. Several Native American tribes recognized Mount Shasta as a sacred place.

Lake Titicaca, on the border of Bolivia and Peru in South America, is often listed as the second chakra. The second chakra is known as Svadhisthana and corresponds to the belly or sex chakra in the human body. Lake Titicaca is sometimes associated with the legendary city of Atlantis. The area also contains the ruins of Tiahuanaco.

Two sites in Australia are commonly listed as the third chakra, known as Manipura, which corresponds to the solar plexus chakra of the human body. Uluru and Kata Tjuta are held as sacred locations by the Aborigines of Australia. These locations are part of Aboriginal creation legends.

The fourth chakra, known as Anahata, is usually agreed to be in England, near Somerset, Shaftesbury, and Glastonbury. Legends of the Holy Grail are connected to these locations. This chakra is connected with the heart, lungs, and circulatory system in the human body.

The fifth of the Earth’s chakras, known as Vishuddha, is most often agreed to include three locations. These are the Great Pyramid, Mount Sinai, and the Mount of Olives. This chakra is connected to the throat chakra of the human body, and these locations have ties to Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

Chakra six, known as Ajna, is most often thought to be in motion and moves with the Earth’s rotations. Most think that this chakra, which is associated with the third eye, is currently in western Europe. It is believed that when the Age of Capricorn begins in two millennia, it will move to Brazil.

The seventh chakra, known as Sahasrara, is most often thought to be located at Mount Kailash in the Himalayas of Tibet. This corresponds with the crown chakra of the human body. Buddhists, Hindus, and the faithful of several other religions hold the mountain sacred.

WiseGEEK is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

WiseGEEK, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

WiseGEEK, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.