We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Is Vegetarian Jelly?

By Terrie Brockmann
Updated May 17, 2024
Our promise to you
WiseGeek is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At WiseGeek, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Typically, jelly thickeners are products made from animal byproducts and therefore are not appropriate for vegetarian diets. Vegetarian jelly makers, on the other hand, frequently use vegetable products as thickeners. These include kuzu root, agar agar, or guar gum. Many people believe that kosher jellies are suitable for vegetarian diets, but frequently kosher products contain meat byproducts. A vegetarian should always read the label of the jelly to know if it contains meat byproducts.

Some of the products that companies use to thicken vegetarian jelly include cellulose, biobin, and carob fruit. Food processors may make kosher gelatin from fish bones or beef skins, which render it inappropriate for the vegetarian diet. Other non-vegetarian kosher thickeners may be marked as "pareve" or "OU pareve." The same is true for rennet and Halal gelatin. A vegetarian needs to read the labels of jellies, jams, and preserves before using them.

Some gelatin is vegetarian safe. Companies often use xanthan, agar agar, or guar instead of animal-based products. Some of these products are available to the home cook. Agar agar, which is sometimes simplified to "agar," is a seaweed product. Some strict vegetarians do not use it because they contend that small sea life may be on the seaweed. Jelly with agar agar needs to be refrigerated, and its consistency will be very soft.

Xanthan gum, which is sometimes shortened to xanthan, is another vegetarian jelly thickener. Food processors make it by fermenting lactose, sucrose, or glucose. A vegetarian should read the label to ensure the product is proper. Lactose is a milk sugar and may not be appropriate for all vegetarian diets.

Fruit pectin is a natural thickener that is present in most fruits. Some fruits, such as apples and most citrus fruits, have more than others, such as raspberries, peaches, or cherries. Under-ripe or overly ripe fruits have less pectin than perfectly ripe fruits. A person can make vegetarian jelly by harnessing this natural thickener. A few food companies offer pectin for thickening vegetarian jelly, jam, or preserves.

Seaweed-based thickeners include agar agar, carrageenan, and furcellaran. Many in the food industry consider agar agar gum to be superior to other seaweed gums. It was the first one to have widespread use, and the others became popular when the Western world broke off relations with Japan during the second World War. Not all vegetarians consider seaweed-based products to be appropriate for their diet, however, and therefore a vegetarian should read jelly and thickener labels carefully.

WiseGeek is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.