What Is Vegan Yogurt?

T. Carrier

Vegan yogurt combines the well-known snack, yogurt, with a vegan diet. Non-animal products used in vegan yogurt can include soy milk, coconut milk, and nut milk. These foods typically functions as an appetizer or a snack dessert. They may be available for purchase, or they can be made at home.

Man making vegan yogurt.
Man making vegan yogurt.

Individuals practicing a vegan lifestyle do not consume animal-based products. This choice is often due to perceived health benefits or an ethical objection to the mistreatment and killing of animals. Generally, vegans do more than just avoid meat. Rather, any product derived from an animal, including milk, may be viewed as off-limits. In order to enjoy certain foods like yogurts, vegans often find alternative non-dairy ingredients that do not include animal products.

Vegan yogurt.
Vegan yogurt.

Milk fermented by bacteria comprises most yogurts. During this process, bacteria is added to the milk, which transforms a sugar known as lactose in the milk into lactic acid. The milk is heated and cooled beforehand, and it sits for several hours after the bacteria is added. The resulting yogurt has a thick, creamy consistency and tastes somewhat sour.

Arrowroot, which is sometimes used in making vegan yogurt.
Arrowroot, which is sometimes used in making vegan yogurt.

In the majority of yogurts, the milk base comes from cows or other animals. Vegan yogurts, however, generally use soy milk. This liquid results when soy beans are soaked and mixed with water. The Asian bean varieties are an important source of protein and are prominent in many non-animal food products such as tofu and soy sauce. Soy milk also contains surplus amounts of calcium and vitamin B.

Vegan frozen yogurt.
Vegan frozen yogurt.

While soymilk yogurt is perhaps the most frequently available type of vegan yogurt, other options do exist. Several foods emit milk-like liquids that may be used for making yogurt, including arrowroot, rice, and coconuts. The first two substances may taste less sweet and have less thickness, whereas coconut milk yogurt tends to possess a creamier and sweeter texture. Many nut varieties, such as almonds, can also be ground and combined with water to produce a milky substance.

There are a lot of non-animal products used to vegan yogurt that make it acceptable for vegans to eat.
There are a lot of non-animal products used to vegan yogurt that make it acceptable for vegans to eat.

Many varieties of vegan yogurt may have an unpleasant taste and texture. Therefore, sweeteners may be added to the final product, and certain sugars or fruit additives are commonplace in many regions. In order to thicken yogurts, stabilizing substances such as xantham gum, kosher jel, or agar may be added.

If vegan yogurt is created from a recipe, ingredients are typically combined, boiled, and then placed in a container for a period of time. Storage units range from yogurt makers or incubators to coolers and thermoses. Frozen yogurt with an ice-cream like consistency may also be created with the aid of an ice cream maker. After it has been made, vegan yogurt can also be used in recipes that call for traditional yogurt.

Vegan yogurt can be made using coconut, almond or soy milk as a starter.
Vegan yogurt can be made using coconut, almond or soy milk as a starter.

Readers Also Love

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Login:
Forgot password?
Register: