At WiseGEEK, we're committed to delivering accurate, trustworthy information. Our expert-authored content is rigorously fact-checked and sourced from credible authorities. Discover how we uphold the highest standards in providing you with reliable knowledge.

Learn more...

What Is Lactose-Free Pizza?

Kristeen Moore
Kristeen Moore

Lactose-free pizza is a dish that is completely free of all milk products. Patients who are lactose intolerant cannot process certain sugars that are contained in dairy products like milk. When preparing a traditional pizza, the dough sometimes contains milk, but the cheeses used are the primary culprit in terms of lactose sensitivity. A lactose-free pizza contains milk-free dough and lacks any kind of cheese used on top. In order to make up for the absence of cheese, cooks can get creative and make a variety of different pizzas laden with fresh herbs and vegetables.

People who have an intolerance to cheese are often sensitive to a sugar called lactose, which is found in dairy products. Patients with this condition often fail to produce lactase from the intestines in order to digest the sugars. Lactose intolerance often causes gastrointestinal ailments, such as nausea, diarrhea, and cramps, when the sugars are consumed; for this reason, people that have this type of condition are encouraged by doctors to stay away from dairy products.

Many people are allergic or sensitive to the lactose found in dairy products.
Many people are allergic or sensitive to the lactose found in dairy products.

A traditional pizza contains dough that is accompanied by tomato sauce, cheeses, and toppings derived from meat and vegetables. Conventional pizzas are usually not suitable for patients with lactose intolerance, due to the fact that there is milk in both the dough and cheeses used. While some people avoid pizza entirely, there are other alternatives to the dish that can be made, all of which do not contain any lactose.

The first step to consider is the dough, which is often made with wheat, eggs, and milk. Homemade dough can be made without milk, but cooks might have to add another substance, such as water or olive oil, so that the product can still be rolled and molded easily. An alternative to homemade dough is prepared versions sold at grocery stores and Italian food markets. Shoppers should check ingredients carefully to ensure that lactose-free pizza dough contains no traces of milk whatsoever.

Cheese is the most common obstacle to overcome when people with lactose intolerance are looking for an appropriate type of pizza. Some people choose to substitute with a non-dairy version, such as soy cheese. Perhaps the easiest way to get around the problem with cheese and lactose is to forfeit it altogether. There are a variety of lactose-free pizzas that utilize tomato sauces and meats, as well as herbs and vegetables that make up for a lack of cheese. Such dishes can be made at home and they are also sold in the frozen section of specialty food stores that offer lactose-free pizza.

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Forgot password?
    • Many people are allergic or sensitive to the lactose found in dairy products.
      By: lidante
      Many people are allergic or sensitive to the lactose found in dairy products.