We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Are the Different Species of Tamarin?

By Meg Higa
Updated Jun 04, 2024
Our promise to you
WiseGeek is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At WiseGeek, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Tamarins are the smallest of the higher order primates that includes humans. They are commonly classified as one of the five families of New World monkeys. Its various species predominantly live in the equatorial jungles and rain forests of South and Central America.

Tamarins are members of the scientific family Callitrichidae, in the genus Saguinus. Most species are typically small, measuring one to 4.25 feet long (30-130 cm) excluding the tail, and weighing one-half to two pounds (220-900 g). Characteristically, they have sharp lower canine teeth that are longer than their incisor teeth. Even more characteristically, many species are identified and classified by mustache facial hairs. The Emperor Tamarin’s starkly white and dramatically downward curling mustache was allegedly named for its resemblance to the German Emperor Wilhelm II.

Spix’s Moustached Tamarin has tufted facial hair; the White-lipped Tamarin has a thin white mustache. Other species are identified and classified according to fur coloration, particularly if distinctive along the ridge of their spine, their back shoulder or mantle area, or their abdominal belly. There are two species of Black-mantled Tamarins. Several sub-species of Brown-mantled Tamarins are also collectively called Saddle-back Tamarins.

Tamarins are omnivorous. They consume fruits, insects, and small vertebrates such as birds. Many also feed on plant sap. They are diurnal, active by day, resting at night. True to their habitat, they spend most of their life in the canopy of trees.

Compared to other primates, tamarins have a few unique social and reproductive traits. While large troops have been observed, most tamarins associate in families of three to nine individuals that are said to be a “cooperative polyandrous group.” Only one female in the group is reproductively active and she is usually monogamous, but the entire group, including males, share responsibility for rearing young. Approximately 80% of births result in twins. Individuals reach maturity by the end of their second year.

There are many interesting species of tamarin. The Midas Tamarin is black with golden hands and feet. The Golden-mantle Tamarin is a near-threatened species endemic to the lowlands of the Andes Mountain Range in Peru and Ecuador with a bright orange upper torso. The bi-colored Pied Tamarin is an endangered species of the Amazon River basin. One of the better known tamarins, the Lion Tamarin, so named for a mane of fur surrounding its face, is classified in its own separate genus Leontopithecus.

WiseGeek is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.