Category: 

What Is Gluten-Free Lipstick?

Article Details
  • Written By: Lainie Petersen
  • Edited By: Melissa Wiley
  • Last Modified Date: 12 January 2019
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2019
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article

Gluten-free lipstick a lip cosmetic that is formulated without the use of ingredients that contain gluten. In addition, gluten-free lipstick is typically manufactured in a plant that does not process other products that contain gluten, although this is not always the case. Individuals with sensitivities to gluten often prefer to use gluten-free lipsticks to avoid triggering a reaction. Many cosmetics brands offer gluten-free lipstick as part of their normal lines, and boutique cosmetic manufacturers also offer gluten-free cosmetics that are formulated and manufactured to high standards so as to avoid gluten contamination.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. Some people have sensitivities to gluten and may experience unpleasant physical symptoms as well as more serious health problems as a result of gluten exposure. Individuals with celiac disease, for example, may suffer from severe gastrointestinal distress as a result of ingesting even trace amounts of gluten. Unfortunately for those who have gluten sensitivities, gluten is a common ingredient in a variety of prepared foods, beverages, and even some cosmetics.

Ad

Those with a gluten sensitivity typically do not have to worry about skin contact with gluten. Lipstick, however, poses a challenge to those with gluten intolerance because it is inevitable that a lipstick wearer will ingest at least small amounts of the product while wearing it. As this can present a threat to individuals who have problems with gluten, gluten-free lipstick is now available in many markets. Some manufacturers specialize in producing gluten-free products while others simply eliminate the use of gluten in the production of some of their lip products. Many manufacturers offer a wide range of lipstick colors that come in gluten-free formulas.

Individuals who have gluten sensitivities and who are interested in purchasing gluten-free lipstick should be aware that standards for the labeling of gluten-free products vary by both manufacturer and legal jurisdiction. If avoiding all gluten is important to someone, she should contact the manufacturer of a lipstick product and ask about its gluten-free standards. For example, some manufacturers may sell cosmetics that do not include gluten in their formulas, but the cosmetics may be produced on equipment that is used for other products that contain gluten. It is important for consumers to clarify whether a product is actually gluten free by confirming that it was produced in a factory where there is no chance of cross-contamination.

Ad

Recommended

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email