Category: 

Should I Be Concerned about Gluten in Millet?

Millet is often included in whole-grain breads.
Dermatitis herpetiformis may be caused by a gluten allergy or celiac disease.
Customers on a gluten-free diet should read labels carefully to ensure all products they are buying are gluten free.
Article Details
  • Written By: Erin J. Hill
  • Edited By: Bronwyn Harris
  • Last Modified Date: 21 November 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article

There is no reason to be concerned about gluten in millet, since this grain is naturally gluten-free. It is commonly used in the making of bird seeds, but it also milled for use in cereals, breads, and pastas. There are various health benefits to eating a diet rich in millet and other whole grains, and it makes a good substitute for certain other forms of grain for those who have Celiac disease or who have a gluten sensitivity.

Gluten is a composite of certain proteins found in many forms of grain, including wheat and rye. It gives many breads and other baked goods their trademark texture and help aid in their preparation and baking. If you have a gluten sensitivity, you may experience digestive upset and other symptoms after eating foods which contain it. Since there is no gluten in millet, it is generally safe to eat cereals containing this grain as long as other forms are not added.

Aside from there being no gluten in millet, the grain is also high in several key nutrients which are important for maintaining your health. It contains high levels of magnesium, which may aid in the prevention of heart disease and help prevent type two diabetes. There is also evidence which shows that eating a diet high in whole grains may help promote a healthy weight and ward off obesity in some people.

Ad

Although there is no gluten in millet directly, it is still important to read labels carefully. Many baked goods, cereals, and other items may contain additional grains which may contain gluten. Most packaged items will list gluten in the ingredients, or it may have a label which says whether or not it contains gluten. This is becoming more common as more people are discovering the benefits of eating a diet free of gluten.

Gluten is not necessary harmful for everyone, but determining who is most at risk of complications can be difficult. Even those who do not have Celiac disease may have a gluten sensitivity. If you have even a mild sensitivity to gluten you may be at risk of heart disease and various types of cancer if precautions are not taken.

Ad

More from Wisegeek

Discuss this Article

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email